top of page
Grabstein_Landammann_Johann_Franz_Achermann_Buochs.jpg

Gravestone of Landammann Johann Franz Achermann (1620–1708) in Buochs NW. Photo: Olivier Felber, 24th July 2020.

«In all of us there is a hunger, marrow-deep, to know our heritage - to know who we are and where we have come from. Without this enriching knowledge, there is a hollow yearning. No matter what our attainments in life, there is still a vacuum, an emptiness, and the most disquieting loneliness.»

Alex Haley (1921–1992)

People have always concerned themselves with researching their origins and ancestors. In the Middle Ages, for example, aristocratic families documented their ancestry in order to justify their rights. Today, genealogy, also known as family research, is a widespread and increasingly popular research area.


Genealogy is a very interesting, but also time-consuming activity. In addition to knowledge of historical facts, the source situation, old-fashioned words and the Latin language, the ability to read old manuscripts is particularly important. Often times, one needs to acquire these skills from scratch.


If you are interested in your Swiss family history, but cannot or do not want to research it yourself, I would be happy to help you. Through years of research in various archives in German-speaking Switzerland, I have extensive experience in Swiss family research and in deciphering old German texts.

Would you like professional help with your genealogical research? Contact me without obligation. I am looking forward to it.

bottom of page

Grabstein_Landammann_Johann_Franz_Achermann_Buochs.jpg

Grabstein von Landammann Johann Franz Achermann (1620–1708) in Buochs NW. Foto: Olivier Felber, 24.07.2020.

«Wir alle wollen wissen, wer wir sind und woher wir kommen. Ganz gleich, was wir im Leben erreichen, ohne diese Klarheit bleibt eine Leere in uns, ein Gefühl der Wurzellosigkeit.»

Alex Haley (1921–1992)

Seit jeher beschäftigen sich Menschen mit der Erforschung ihrer Herkunft und Vorfahren. Im Mittelalter dokumentierten beispielsweise Adelsfamilien ihre Abstammung, um damit ihre Rechte zu begründen. Heute ist Genealogie, auch Ahnen- oder Familienforschung genannt, ein weltweit verbreitetes und zunehmend beliebteres Forschungsgebiet.


Genealogie ist eine sehr interessante, aber auch zeitaufwändige Beschäftigung. Neben Kenntnissen der historischen Gegebenheiten, der Quellenlage, alten Wörtern und der lateinischen Sprache ist insbesondere das Lesen von alten Handschriften erforderlich. Oft muss man sich diese Fertigkeiten von Grund auf aneignen.


Wenn Sie sich für Ihre Schweizer Familiengeschichte interessieren, diese aber nicht selber erforschen können oder wollen, helfe ich Ihnen gerne weiter. Durch jahrelange Forschung in verschiedenen Archiven der Deutschschweiz verfüge ich über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Schweizer Familienforschung und im Entziffern von alten deutschsprachigen Texten.

Möchten Sie für Ihre Ahnenforschung professionelle Hilfe in Anspruch nehmen? Nehmen Sie unverbindlich mit mir Kontakt auf. Ich freue mich darauf.